About Us

The Business was begun some time before 1854 by Charles White as a General builder specialising in Church and Chapel work, stone masonry and joinery. In 1854 the records show a partnership between Charles White and his son in law Askew Wood being formed. The two current Directors (of the now limited company) are fifth and sixth generation builders respectively with much passed down expertise and knowledge.

Arthur Wood & Sons are members of the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings.

We work mainly on Churches, country houses and even castles, (Tattershall caste for The National Trust where we won the 2003 Wood Awards for our restoration of the moat bridges in green oak).

We carry out all of our works in lime mortars and plasters, handmade bricks, sand cast and milled lead, handmade roof tiles and natural stone in the traditional methods we have never ceased to use.

All our joiners are Construction Skills Certification Scheme carded or working towards this status. All men have received training in "Emergency First Aid in the Workplace" and undergo health and safety training from basic awareness training to the necessary ticketing from plant operation.

The directors are:

Thomas D Wood

Managing director-sole shareholder-company secretary.

14yrs experience in Heritage Building Contracting.

C David Wood

44yrs experience in Heritage Building Contracting.

Construction Industry Training Board registration number is: 1332191.
Waste Carriers License from the Environment Agency is CB/JP3393BC.
We are members of the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings.
We carry contractors all risk insurance up to 5 million pounds.

More Information

For more information please contact us on 01507 462465

  • Arthur Wood & Sons are capable of the most intricate restoration projects (Barton Cleatham Sneaths Mill)

    Arthur Wood & Sons are capable of the most intricate restoration projects (Frithville church)

  • Restoration and conservation of a listed former watermill

    Restoration and conservation of a listed former watermill

  • roof restoration

    Roof restoration at Cletham Hall